Arts & Humanities

Arts and Humanities classes are a critical component of a comprehensive and rich curriculum, and are integral to educating the whole child (physical, emotional, mental, and spiritual). Students in Kindergarten through 8th grade participate in weekly classes in Art, Music, Physical Education, Library, Technology, and Spanish.

art classAll students in grades kindergarten through 8th grade enjoy weekly art class in the new art room. Students study the various art genres and create original works of art using media including charcoal, pastels, paint, clay, and textiles.

Ms. Mary’s Spring Newsletter

grade-school-37All students in grades Pre-K-8 enjoy weekly classes in the library media center. Students are exposed to a variety of high-quality literature, check out books for independent reading (grades K-8), and learn information literacy skills that help them become effective and ethical users of information.

music-class-8Liturgical and choral music, music theory, singing, recorders, keyboards, ukuleles, movement, and musical productions are integral components of this class. There are many opportunities for performances every year, with the 1st Grade performing their own musical, 2nd through 5th Grades performing a Christmas production, and the Middle School Drama Club performing a spring production!

Students engage in a comprehensive physical education program based on participation in athletics and physical fitness activities. Students in grades K-5 attend P.E. classes twice a week, and students in grades 6-8 attend P.E. classes once a week.

Students in Kindergarten through 8th grade develop language skills in Spanish and an appreciation for other cultures through weekly Spanish classes.

grade-school-38All students K – 8 attend Computer Class once a week.  Grades K-2 work with learning the keyboard and mouse, use Microsoft Word to create documents, and educational software online.  Grades 3-8 use Google products to create documents, spreadsheets, presentations, and drawings.  Grades 2 – 8 use keyboarding programs to learn the correct finger position on the keyboard and improve their speed and accuracy.  Grades 4-8 work with code.org to learn about computer coding.

Karen Allen

Middle School Art

kallen@stjoeelem.org

Patrick Miller

Physical Education

pmiller@stjoeelem.org

Susan Hurst

Technology

schurst@stjoeelem.org

Mary Crum Spalding

Elementary Art

mspalding@stjoeelem.org

Hortensia Mayer

Lupita Jimenez

Spanish

lupita@stjoeelem.org

Jill Vittitow

Elementary Art

jvittitow@stjoeelem.org

Tricia Payne

Library Media

tpayne@stjoeelem.org

X